Asia 2016

Next May I hit the big 30 and have decided that I want to spend it travelling and what better place to be then South East Asia! I absolutely fell in love with Bangkok and know that there is so much more to explore. Having dreams is very important to me and knowing that I have something to look forward to can get me out of a funk. So the planning begins…

I would ideally like to visit Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand but whether I will have the cash to do all four is the question? I have decided to go on a tour as I will be able to meet like minded people and feel a little safer. I explored the options of Contiki, Intrepid, Gecko Adventures and Top Deck and have decided to go with Intrepid, they have a great reputation and the prices are pretty good. With over 10 tours in the area I’m having trouble deciding which one to go with so think I will go into the Auckland branch and have a talk to someone.

Ideally I would like to do this one

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/vietnam/great-indochina-loop-85688

But at close to $4000 its a stretch so I’m more then likely to choose a shorter one that covers 3 countries like

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/vietnam/experience-indochina-85836

That would mean I would miss out on Laos but could possibly travel there after the trip by myself.

Heres my short list where I can compare the different tours

http://www.intrepidtravel.com/shortlist

I’ll be documenting my research here

Peace and love

Sammie xx

Soy and depression

While browsing on pinterest I came across an article about foods you shouldn’t eat if you suffer from depression. Coffee, refined sugar and fat made sense but I had no idea that soy was so bad. Check out what they wrote.
Soy – This food is a hormone and endocrine disruptor and is almost always of the GMO variety. Soy has a very depressing effect on the thyroid and can cause the body to have trouble absorbing iodine, iron and zinc.  All these nutrients are essential to a healthy immune system. Soy is very difficult to digest, especially when it is not fermented.  This protein can also damage the digestive tract.  According to The Mood Cure, “Soy contains mineral-blocking phytates, acknowledged even by the soy industry as interfering with the absorption of antidepressant thyroid hormones as well as the thyroid- and brain-crucial mineral iodine, iron and zinc.” Check out the rest of the article herehttp:// http://www.rootedblessings.com/5-foods-to-ditch-if-you-struggle-with-anxiety-or-depression/

Looks like I’ll be swapping my soy latte for an almond milk one!